Va. Republicans announce qualified convention candidates

The Republican Party of Virginia (RPV) announced the final candidates who will appear on the ballot at the May 8 nominating convention.
RPV says the deadline for candidates to file was Friday at 5 p.m. The Republican candidates who have filed are as follows:

  • Amanda Chase
  • Kirk Cox
  • Sergio de la Peña
  • Peter Doran
  • Octavia Johnson
  • Pete Snyder
  • Glenn Youngkin

Republicans Paul Davis, Merle Rutledge and Kurt Santini did not make the ballot for the governor race.
Lieutenant Governor:

  • Puneet Ahluwalia
  • Lance Allen
  • Glenn Davis
  • Tim Hugo
  • Maeve Rigler
  • Winsome Sears

Attorney General:

  • Leslie Haley
  • Jason Miyares
  • Chuck Smith
  • Jack White

“The field is now set for the 2021 Virginia State Republican Convention with an incredible slate of Republican candidates for statewide office,” said RPV Chairman Rich Anderson. “I’m proud of these Virginians who have stepped forward to offer themselves in service to our Commonwealth as governor, lieutenant governor, and attorney general.”
The Democratic party lists the following candidates for governor:

  • Lee Carter
  • Justin Fairfax
  • Jennifer Foy
  • Terry McAuliffe
  • Jenn McClellan

The State Board of Elections will determine the ballot order for the Democrat candiates at their March 31 meeting.
The purpose of the convention is so delegates can vote to determine who will emerge as the party’s candidate and an open primary is a preliminary election held by a political party before the actual election, to determine its candidates in which all registered voters may participate. Virginia will hold an election for governor on November 2.

Marco Harmon

I was born and raised in Roanoke, VA. I studied Communications Studies at Roanoke College, and I’ve been part of the news industry ever since. Visiting my favorite downtown Roanoke bars and restaurants with my friends is how I spend most of my free time when I'm not at the desk.

Related Articles

Back to top button